Stepping into Magic: an actor's journey…

"Be not afraid of greatness: some are born great, some achieve greatness and some have greatness thrust upon them" ~William Shakespeare

Spas, Sites and Sor Juana…

* For those new to my blog each post consists of 3 parts:

Body (Physical Self), Mind (Intellectual Self) & Soul (Sacred Self)

I also like to end each section with three questions for personal reflection and/or discussion in the comments section.

I enjoy hearing from you and thank you for reading 🙂

BODY

“Take Rest; A field that has rested gives bountiful crop.” ~Ovid

Salt Sauna at Wi-Spa

Salt Sauna at Wi-Spa

In a past post I mentioned the physical demands of the current show I am working on: Serpentine Pink by Megan Breen. The show runs about 70 minutes and for the majority of the play my character “Jaymee” is tense, angry, flipping out, tripping out and loving till it hurts. My body hurts after our opening weekend and I decided it was time to treat myself to a chiropractic adjustment with the wonderful Dr. Mike at All Ages Chiropractic and then some Korean Spa time!

My dear friend Malika Williams introduced me to the wonderful world of WI SPA. This amazing building contains a blissful retreat where hours can be spent in relaxation and rejuvenation. For $25 you can get access to two floors. The first floor contains the men’s and women’s spas with the warm/hot/cold tubs, steam room, sauna, regular showers and the awesome sit down showers where you can take your time and loofa your poor skin that has been breathing in the smoggy LA air. The lockers are controlled by a waterproof bracelet that looks and feels like a watch and also doubles as your payment card for the Korean Restaurant on the second floor. Shampoo, Conditioner, Body Gel, Lotion, Brushes, Hairdryers, Q-Tips and towels are provided along with a robe. When you head up to the Co-Ed second floor, called the “Jimjilbang,” you are asked to wear the Wi-Spa T-Shirt and a pair of cotton shorts that are provided for you. The second floor has a main area where you can borrow a mat and pillow to lie down and relax in between eating at the restaurant or spending time in any of the specialty sauna rooms (Bulgama, Salt, Clay, Jade and Ice). The Bulgama is a large circular sauna with a mosaic rock celling that averages about 222 degrees. The Jade room has walls made of Jade and runs a little over 130 degrees. The Clay room is my favorite, at 129 degrees and filled with little beads of clay, hard not soft, that form around your body and provide intense heat to your limbs when you dig them deep into the beads. The Salt room is similar to the clay one, not quite as hot, with big chunks of salt to lay in and an illuminated salt wall. The Ice room is basically a walk in freezer that helps get your core temperature down in between saunas. Inside each door there are descriptions of what each mineral does for the body along with tips on use.

I have decided to treat myself to this comfort at least once a month, and Malika happened to make that same New Year’s resolution! I find it a wonderful experience where I am in communion with my poor broken body and able to really breath in peace and mindfulness. For those few hours I can feel at one with my body rather than at odds.

  • Where is your favorite place in LA to relax and rejuvenate?
  • What specialty sauna room (Bulgama, Salt, Clay, Jade and Ice) are you drawn to?
  • What do you treat your body to when you need to reconnect with yourself?

MIND

“So many celebrity websites you go to are so sterile that you know they just pay somebody to do it and there’s not even an ounce of them in it.” ~ Cindy Margolis

Photo By Braden Davis Text by Matt Andrade

Photo By Braden Davis
Text by Matt Andrade

    Recently I have been involved in not only acting in Serpentine Pink, by Megan Breen, Directed by Nathan Sing, but I am also one of the four producers of this first festival production. Because of this I found a new type of “art” that I have started to enjoy: website design. I first began this journey with the designing of my own website, and then found myself at a producer’s meeting volunteering to be in charge of our website for our upcoming production. Once I started I couldn’t stop!

(I used Webs.com for both my personal site and Serpentine Pink’s site and I have found it to be pretty simple and not too expensive.)

I  am very proud of my work! When Serpentine Pink was first proposed to the Son of Semele Company Creation Festival we wrote that we wanted the play to live outside of the performance/theatre and this website is one of the ways we have fulfilled this. (The only downside to this is the fact that I can sit for hours on end fixing and perfecting every page I build, not good for the bum, the bum can get very sore when on a website building/maintaining marathon.)

Rather than write too much about it I would rather you visit the site and take some time to look around and enjoy the multimedia experience!

www.serpentinepink.com

  •  Is there a new type of Art that you have discovered lately?
  • After visiting the Serpentine Pink website, what character’s page did you enjoy the most?
  •  What is one of your favorite websites?

SOUL

“I walk beneath your pens, and am not what I truly am, but what you’d prefer to imagine me.”

~ Sor Juana Inés de la Cruz

This week I have been blessed with the opportunity to be in a room with amazing, beautiful & talented actors, in a workshop for Tanya Saracho‘s commissioned play The Tenth Muse for the Oregon Shakespeare Festival. Originally OSF wanted Tanya to adapt one one of Sor Juana Inéz de la Cruz‘s plays called House of Desires. However, her play slowly transitioned into a story about two generations of women living in the convent where Sor Juana lived and died 20 years after her death. We have been reading Tanya’s work, Sor Juana’s work, and diving into full discussions, discoveries, and deliciousness. ( An added plus is that we are working at USC and I get to roam the halls and see some of the current MFA grad students!)

I admire writers. The imagination, organization and dedication it takes for an author to fully develop characters, plot, truth, history, twists and turns is mind-blowing… This process that we are involved in this week is flat out astounding! I love watching Tanya listen to us speak her words, I cherish the thoughts and wisdom that float around the air of our workspace, I am thrilled to read the new pages Tanya brings in and I leave each day smiling from ear to ear, unable to believe my luck. There is a sacredness in being a part of developing a new play. We are all taking part in the birth of a new work that will live on long after we have left the rehearsal rooms.

There has been discussion each morning of our dream filled and restless nights since being in this process and I believe we are all filled with the spirit of “Her” legacy. I can feel fingertips guiding each of us into the room and the softest of kisses on our cheeks when we depart for the day. There are only two days left of this magnificent time to be with these artists and I will forever cherish being a part of bringing the Tenth Muse to light and feeling “Her” in the room…

  • If you could meet a writer who is no longer living, who would you choose?
  • Have you ever felt the presence of someone who had passed away?
  • Can you remember a time when you were in a room surrounded with people you admire and look up to?
Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Spas, Sites and Sor Juana…

Leave a Reply

