Stepping into Magic: an actor's journey…

"Be not afraid of greatness: some are born great, some achieve greatness and some have greatness thrust upon them" ~William Shakespeare

Exercise, Murder and Turkey!

I am sitting at the URBNMRKT near USC in a “work meeting” with my colleague Malika Williams and realized I haven’t updated my blog since June! I had been in San Francisco over the summer working on the world premier of Luis Alfaro’s BRUJA at the Magic Theatre and after we opened I just let the blogging fall to the sidelines. I’ve always been daunted by writing and starting a blog was an attempt at exercising that muscle. So I’ve decided I need to get back to the blog!

For those of you new to my Blog I like to focus on three aspects of my life: Body, Mind and Soul. I hope you enjoy!!!

BODY

 “You miss 100% of the shots you don’t take.” ~Wayne Gretzky

Hiking the Baldwin Stairs to the Overlook with Malika and Danielle!

As many of you may know I have had multiple surgeries and suffer from chronic joint pain. The biggest problem is that I have a horrible attitude towards exercise even though it is what could cure me from my pain. There is something in my mind that is blocked and refuses to accept any motivation to “work-out.” If it’s not one excuse it’s another: “Yoga is too expensive” ” I’ll start next week” “The gym is too expensive” “It hurts to exercise” “If only I had my own personal trainer” Blah, Blah, Blah… There are times when I am able to have the motivation, but it only lasts for, at most, a few weeks. Recently I have a little voice in my head that is reminding me that my body is my instrument and if I don’t take care of it I won’t be able to keep up with the demands of being an actor. So…. as of now I do not have any specific goals or a burst of motivation, I am just publicly announcing that I know I have to take charge and find a workout that works for me. Any suggestions are always welcome!

  • What exercise works for you?
  • Have you ever had a hard time getting yourself to work out?
  • What’s your favorite workout music?

MIND

“Books are packaged dreams.” ~Dean Koontz

Zen Moses, private investigator, is either having a bad day or bad karma. Her cat is dead. The IRS wants to talk to her. And she just found her long-lost cousin’s body bound to a beer keg at her favorite neighborhood bar.

I am an avid reader! I love escaping into new worlds, following characters through their journeys and being satisfied with a good story. Since I was little I have loved reading and still own many of the books from my childhood. I have also decided that when I give gifts to children it is almost always a book rather than a toy. On the inside of many of my childhood books there are written notes from the people that gave them to me and I cherish that tradition. Recently I visited the USC library where as an Alum I can still check out books! The book I wanted wasn’t there so I decided to let myself get lost in the book stacks and I came across this book: Zen and the Art of Murder by Elizabeth M. Cosin (click the title to read an excerpt from the book). Its a 1998 private detective novel that is filled with humor, wit and a great story. I finished it in a week! I returned the book yesterday and got her next novel: Zen and the City of Angels, I am already 3/4 done with it. My mother is a huge fan of detective novels, I had never been too into them, but this one makes me think I need to give that genre another try…

  • What are your favorite detective novels?
  • What is the book you last read?
  • What is a book you have been meaning to read?

SOUL

Take care of all your memories, for you cannot re-live them. ~Bob Dylan

Patio Fireplace at the Hotel Angeleno

This is the second year in a row that I wasn’t able to go home for Thanksgiving. Nothing can replace the feeling of Thanksgiving with my parents up in our house in Northern New Mexico. The turkey with green chile, mashed potatoes, sauteed mushrooms, my mom’s green bean casserole and cranberry/orange sauce, going fishing with my dad, visits from family and friends and the endless games of gin rummy by the wood burning stove. However, there is something special about creating new traditions. Last year Matt and I ate out at a fancy restaurant and had a wonderful Thanksgiving together. This year his parents joined us in LA along with my Aunt Frances and Uncle Harvey, all traveling from Albuquerque. My cousin Jenny, works at a super fancy hotel: Sofitel LA and we had an amazing buffet with everyone at the restaurant SIMON/LA. The food was fabulous and it was great to watch my aunt and uncle get to know Matt’s parents. The next day we went to Malibu with Matt’s mom and dad and took them to Dukes for some great fish and a view of the ocean. They left early the next morning and I spent the day with my aunt and uncle visiting family in Newport Beach. It was such a wonderful feeling to have family around us and I am so thankful to all of them for traveling out to see us.

  • What are some of your Thanksgiving?Holiday traditions?
  • What is your favorite food for Turkey day?
  • Have you ever been away from family for Thanksgiving?
Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Exercise, Murder and Turkey!

  1. Johan Söderberg on said:

    Hey Sabina!

    Love to read your words! Thanksgiving in northern New Mexico – Green Chilli Turkey 🙂 Been there! Done that! It was lovely :)! !!

    Hope to read more later on! .. Ive always been a great fan of books myself. Started reading really early, already reading the lord of the rings at 13 or 14. Now im totally embraced by the world of ‘game of thrones. Thats a great piece of litterature I must say ..

    And Excercise! .. I take to yoga. Now a more demanding form, but anything bending the body makes me happy.. I earlier in my life found it difficult to do anything if it didnt involve a ball ! .. :O . Or anything else that consumed my attention so that I didnt think about how boring it was.. But now a days I love hiking, half running half walking in the forest not with training clothes – but with clothes that can take a little dirt. like old jeans or whatever. Then I deciced to let my body decide for itself when it wants to run or walk or climb. It loves that!

    Love from Sweden
    Johan

Leave a Reply

