Stepping into Magic: an actor's journey…

"Be not afraid of greatness: some are born great, some achieve greatness and some have greatness thrust upon them" ~William Shakespeare

A walk in The Mission, a Double Feature and my Magical workplace…

BODY:I have two doctors, my left leg and my right.”  ~G.M. Trevelyan

On Mother’s Day, I took a trip to San Francisco’s Mission District. I walked about 3-4 miles. I expected to be absolutely exhausted when I got home, but I think my stamina and strength is really increasing. The neighborhood is filled with nooks, crannies and alleys, crazy little shops and bars and eateries, residences (Old and New) and one mural after the other. Our play BRUJA is set in the Mission District, so I took it upon myself to take in the sights, smells and sounds of this little corner of the world. Click HERE to see a few of the murals that caught my eye.

MIND: “The arts are an even better barometer of what is happening in our world than the stock market or the debates in congress.”
Hendrik Willem Van Loon

This past week I treated myself to two incredible shows. The first was Ana Tijoux, a Chilean MC who has been blowing up on the hip-hop scene. She recently had a song in Breaking Bad in an incredible montage featuring her song 1977. (Click to see the Breaking Bad Scene) Her opening acts were RAW-G, representing Mexico and Las Rakas, representing Panama and Oakland. The energy in the space was amazing and I had been yearning to dance and feel vibrations, what a night! The second show was at ACT (American Conservatory Theatre) It was the opening night of Samuel Beckett’s double feature of PLAY (Click for the full script! Its AMAZING) and ENDGAME (Same thing, click for the full text!). I was especially excited to see Bill Irwin in the part of HAMM in Endgame. I was most intrigued by the acting and text work in PLAY, it was absolutely on point and driven with intention, action and storytelling, and you could only see the actors from the neck up! It was inspiring to see two different mediums of performance, I could feel my serotonin level rising and my heart warming. For a few snapshots of the two evenings click HERE.

SOUL: “The pit of a theatre is the one place where the tears of virtuous and wicked men alike are mingled.”
Denis Diderot

This weekend we go into Tech. We have two 12 hour days in which we put together all elements of the play: Costumes, Lights, Video, Sound, Cues, Beats, etc… Its a “Magical” time where our world is revealed to us, slowly but surely. Its been such an amazing process to live the changes and developments in the script day to day. Playwright Luis Alfaro has been in the house with us listening and writing and Director Loretta Greco is molding and shaping. Together these two are weaving a seductive tale of love, marriage, identity, loss, jealousy, revenge and magic that we will bring to life. We go into previews on May 24th and it will be so exhilarating to share our work with a live audience. Click HERE for a sneak peak into the little corners of the theatre.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

