Stepping into Magic: an actor's journey…

"Be not afraid of greatness: some are born great, some achieve greatness and some have greatness thrust upon them" ~William Shakespeare

Stairs, Sites and Sons…

BODY: I have now been in rehearsals for over a week! The path to the theatre everyday is becoming familiar, and each day brings a new challenge. I have been walking A LOT! Round trip to the theatre and back from my apartment is a little over a mile and a half. I walk down three flights of stairs on my way there, there is a beautiful park that has a great set of stairs down to Building D where The Magic Theatre resides and then I walk up three flights of stairs to get to the theatre. I repeat all of the stairs on my way home each day. (I have yet to incorporate the therabands into my exercise routine, but I am going to throw them into my rehearsal bag and try to start using them during rehearsal breaks.) For the first few days I was really sore and exhausted from walking so much, but I think I am starting to feel a little bit of strength in my legs.

MIND: This weekend Matt came to visit and we explored Alcatraz. We took a boat out to the island and wandered around for a good 3 hours. For photos of the visit click HERE.

SOUL: It hit me this week: I AM PLAYING MEDEA. It was the moment after reading some new pages from the amazing playwright LUIS ALFARO. I found myself in the bathroom in tears after reading one of the scenes with Medea and her Children. Luis has done such an wonderful job bringing the boys into the story…

Saturday we incorporated the beautiful little actors who will be playing my sons, what a different and lively energy they bring to our space. I can feel the family starting to come together, and just looking at the little faces and big eyes of these boys warms my heart. During one rehearsal, while sitting around the table to read a scene with my sons one of them jokingly pleaded, “Don’t kill us today okay?” I smiled back at him and said, “Not today honey.”

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Stairs, Sites and Sons…

  1. Mom on said:

    Take pictures of the theatre?

Leave a Reply

