Stepping into Magic: an actor's journey…

"Be not afraid of greatness: some are born great, some achieve greatness and some have greatness thrust upon them" ~William Shakespeare

An Actor Prepares….the Magic begins!

BODY: Lately I have been suffering from chronic neck  and knee pain that is due to a history of joint surgeries. It is also due to the fact that I have not been keeping in shape.During grad school I had no choice but to keep in shape, it was written into our everyday schedule. However, in this year after graduating I haven’t been very good at self discipline. I am very catlike, I can lay around and stare out a window for hours, and I love to groom myself, getting ready to go to dinner or a play or to visit with friends for a drink is one of my favorite past times. But unlike a cat I have not been stretching and playing enough to keep my muscles and stamina up to their potential. So in my struggle to overcome my lethargy I have been slowly finding ways to get myself back  into tip top shape. My first step has been working on Cardio to help build energy. I found a 15 minute dance video on Netflix instant. I aim to do this video once a day. Luckily I have been put up in a very cute apartment that is a 15 minute walk from the theatre, so that to will add to my daily workout. I am taking vitamins regularly and drinking lots of water. For breakfast I am eating quinoa and a banana and taking plenty of healthy snack to rehearsal. Next up is incorporating thera bands. I will let you know how that goes…

MIND: On Sunday I flew to San Francisco. I packed up for two months, fit everything into 3 suitcases, carried on my guitar Persephone and my new San Francisco backpack. (I flew Virgin Airlines for the first time, what a treat!) The weather was perfect when I walked out of SFO and waited for the Assistant Director to pick me up. He took me to my little hidden away apartment and it was love at first sight! I unpacked immediately, set up my altar, put away my clothes, hung up my jewelry and made a cup of tea. For a few minutes I got caught up in the 100+ channels I have on a very beautiful flat screen TV, then decided to put the remote down and cover the TV with a pretty silk scarf. I took myself out to a nice lunch at a very cute French restaurant called Cafe des Amis. (My neighborhood is a haven for cute shops, people walking lots of cute dogs and very cute little restaurants.) I sat on the sidewalk patio and drank a glass of champagne to toast the start of my Magic adventure. Roaming the San Fran streets will be quite fun and I promise to begin a photo album soon!

SOUL: Today marked the beginning of the rehearsal period for BRUJA at The Magic Theatre. The room was buzzing with designers, docents, trustees, board members, cast, crew and the energy was palpable. The table was set with candles, lemons, herbs, water, books and materials and the walls were filled with images of Medea, various photos and facts of Curanderismo and a map that outlines Jason and Medea’s journey from Michoacan, Mexico to the Mission district in San Francisco, all provided by our Dramaturg Jane Ann Crum. We began with the formality of signing contracts and tax documents and then had an inspiring introduction from our director Loretta Greco, who has always wanted to work on Medea. The playwright Luis Alfaro then shared with us some wonderful words about community and his exploration of ‘change’ in individuals and couples while writing this piece. The designers shared their concepts and thoughts on their medium in and how they will utilize it to tell this story.  We then plunged in and read the script. As it is a work in progress, after the reading there were lots of ideas, questions, comments and discussion between cast and crew. Finally we wrapped it all up with Equity business and rather than having to leave the room this time I got to stay, since I am joining AEA. Tonight I get to sit down with a cup of tea and read the great Dramaturgy Packet that was so beautifully put together for each of us. Tomorrow we are all bringing in items to place on our altar for rehearsal that will then move with us backstage when the show opens. The Magic has begun….

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

