Stepping into Magic: an actor's journey…

"Be not afraid of greatness: some are born great, some achieve greatness and some have greatness thrust upon them" ~William Shakespeare

Hello world!

Here it goes… my first attempt to write and maintain a blog site. I have always been very intimidated by writing, but as I have learned from so many sources, teachers, poets, artists, etc. we must face our fears to move forward.

“You gain strength, courage, and confidence by every experience in which you really stop to look fear in the face. You must do the thing which you think you cannot do.”
Eleanor Roosevelt (for more quotes by Eleanor Roosevelt click HERE)

I recently was cast in a major role at an amazing theater in the Bay Area and am taking a huge step in my career. Be it fate, destiny, reward for hard work, and/or anything else, I welcome this challenge and have chosen to share my journey, and those that follow, with you. There will be three parts to my entries, along with photos and quotes and questions for you to ponder…

My great professor Michael Keenan shared a great tip to all of us in our final year of our MFA program at USC: Everyday do one thing for your Self, one thing for your Environment and one thing towards your Work. Be that a 15 minute work out video for yourself, washing those dishes you keep staring at, and updating your website. So I have taken this advice and will use it to share three parts of my “living as a working artist” adventures:

Body (Physical Self/Me): I will update my progress/struggles with my health and well being.

Mind (Intellectual Self/My Environment):I will observe and report on interesting and random things and situations.

Soul (Inner Self/My Work): I will share my hearts desires, wonders and feats while journeying through my artistry.

I hope you enjoy!

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light not our darkness that frightens us. We ask ourselves ‘who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented and fabulous?’ Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small doesn’t serve the world. There’s nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others. ”

~ Marianne Williamson (For more quotes by Marianne Williamson click HERE)

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

